PB&J and TPACK?

This week in CEP810, I was challenged to make a peanut butter and jelly sandwich using a plate, a bowl, and an ice cream scoop? Yes, you heard me right. My husband was in charge of choosing one utensil without knowing its function and I felt very silly using it as I recorded my video. Please watch my video to see how using an ice cream scoop, not designed for sandwich creating, aided in the making of a peanut butter and jelly sandwich!

As you can see, it was a messy process. I had to re-purpose the ice cream scoop in many ways. The good news was the peanut butter and jelly spread easily once it was on the bread. The bad news was a large scoop meant large portions. Be careful when trying this at home! At first I had no idea what this activity had to do with education. After watching the keynote speaker, Punya Mishra (21st Century Learning Conference in Hong Kong in 2012), I realized there is no such thing as “educational technology”. Technology was never designed with the purpose of being used to aid in instruction, yet teachers find ways to re-purpose it everyday. In my own classroom, I remember when I wanted to model how to complete an activity up close for students to see. That is easily done with an ELMO, Overhead, or even Smartboard but I only had my iPad and Apple T.V. I decided to place my iPad on a stack of books with the camera piece hanging over the edge. Next, I set my iPad to camera mode and set it up to mirror on my Apple T.V. When I placed work under the camera feature, my students were able to see it bigger on my television. I am sure Steve Jobs did not intend a camera feature on an iPad to be used in this way before but it worked for us!

 

 

Leave a comment